Be Proactive

This is the sort of thing that usually dooms anything I want to start.  I, like so many, have so many ideas, some of which are good, but things never get beyond the planning stage because I am inherently lazy.  Even after a day I think to myself, eh, why do I need to do this.  I need to do this for the exact reason that I am thinking that I do not want to.  I do not want to continue to let life happen to me.  I feel like that in a way, I am still letting things happen to me.  I am starting a business partnership and while I am learning, it only makes sense that I will depend on my partner for advice and to catch the things that I miss, this is normal, or so I think it is.  I have to continue to work every day to be independent.  I have to be proactive and not wait for things to happen because my partner is making them happen.  I have to get out there and I have to learn.  I have to make things happen myself.  I love where I am right now.  I am trying to get over the laziness that is so ingrained from years of being comfortable in a crappy situation.  I want to be more proactive.  Believe it or not, just writing this is part of that.  A good line in a really bad movie said, “A writer writes.  Always.”  I have always aspired to be a writer.  I still do.  I have been doing more and more every day.  I feel like I am getting there.  One day, along with whatever business I have, one thing I want to be able to add to my resume is Professional Writer.  In order to do that, I have to master the first of the 7 habits.  Be proactive.  It has been a struggle, but I feel like I doing better each day.

Leave a Reply

