Robert Redford

There was recently an article in Entertainment Weekly that discussed some of Robert Redford’s movies.  I don’t know why, but when I talk about favorite actors, Redford doesn’t usually come up, but once I start to look at the movies that he did that I loved through the years, I would say that he is right up there with Tom Hanks in my book.  The fact that I put Tom Hanks as the benchmark probably dates me.

First of all, the movie that is one of my two all-time favorite movies has Robert Redford alongside Paul Newman: The Sting.  I just recently rewatched this movie and it still holds up.  Not only the story, but the whole look and feel of it is juts fantastic.  My other all time favorite movie is The Great Escape, but that’s for another time.  A friend pointed out that even Redford’s bad movies are good.  The other big Newman/Redford movie, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid doesn’t need commentary.  It has been way too long since I have seen this movie.

Another movie that my wife and I just rewatched a part of since we happened to stumble on to it is Sneakers.  This may not be his best outing, but I loved this movie.  It had been a while, and the technology shown, which was cutting edge at the time now seems incredibly dated.  Much like the modem shown in War Games.

One movie that I haven’t seen in a while, but I remember as if I had seen it yesterday was The Natural.  Just incredible.  The scene where he is running out the home run while the lights are exploding all around him is one of those scenes that just stayed with me and while it has been a while, when I round the bases myself, I picture lights exploding.

The other one that I have now moved to the top of my list is All The Presidents Men.  Another amazing one with another incredible actor in Dustin Hoffman.  I used to have this one almost on a scheduled annual rewatch, but it has been years and I have to rectify that.  In fact, in my head I have to acknowledge something I think I knew for a while, Redford is one of the best and one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

