Give Voyager a Break

I saw an article online somewhere called something like “6 Reasons Star Trek: Voyager” was a failure.  I read the article and with all due respect to the person who took the time and effort to put the article together, it’s a load of crap.  Now who I am, no one reads this, and tons of people read this other guy, regardless of that, I have to say that while Voyager did falter in a lot of ways, in a lot of ways, Voyager was the best there was of Star Trek.

It definitely had it’s issue, and they have all been hashed and rehashed. so I wont go into crazy detail, but I will mention the one I think were big issues.

The biggest one was the writing, which is ironic, because the writing was also something that made it stronger than the other series’.  However, for characters like Chakotay, Harry Kim, Neelix and Tuvok, the writing failed especially in the later years.  For a while, if it was Janeway, Seven and The Doctor.  The others got scraps.  B’Lana and Tom got a few more scraps than the others, but the bulk of the cast was largely ignored.  Chakotay could have been one of the great characters of Star Trek.  I saw so much potential that was left on the table.  It is that potential as to why I still do consider Chakotay to be one of my all time favorite characters, right up there with the other First Officer, William, T. Riker.  I also don’t know who Garret Wang pissed off, but talk about getting screwed over by the writers.

Besides that, Captain Janeway was a fantastic character.  She definitely had presence and I love how Kate Mulgrew played her.  It was a great combination of grace and swagger.  It was a swagger that gave James Kirk a run for his money.  One reason why I like Janeway is that if Voyager hadn’t been stranded in the Delta Quadrant, I know a weird what-if since there otherwise wouldn’t have been a show, Janeway would have been an unknown Captain of a small ship, of otherwise little significance.  Voyager, NCC-74656 wasn’t the Enterprise.  It wasn’t the flag ship and Janeway wasn’t a Captain with the history or credentials of a Kirk or Picard.  She would have been lost in the shuffle.  It wasn’t about the flagship and the best screw in the fleet.  It was a rag-tag bunch that would never have given each other a second thought.  There was something about that dynamic that really elevated the show

While the writing failed at some levels, one of the great things about the show was it’s writing.  Star Trek matured.  The stories became richer and more fleshed out.  There was more continuity and each week effected the next.  The Next Generation was still an anthology.  One week had little, if any effect on the next. (Don’t get me wrong, TNG was amazing, especially seasons 3, 4 and 5, but that’s for another time.)

Robert Picardo was incredible and so many have said such great things about him and his character, all of which I agree with.  Neelix and Ethan Philips on the other hand gets a lot of flak, all of which I feel is completely undeserved.  He was an incredible character with a good backstory and an amazing arc.  The single most touching moment in the series was when he left in the next to last episode.  I was sorry he really wasn’t in Endgame, but on the other hand I was really happy they gave him his own exit, which turned out to actually be the only real good-bye we get.  I am an Endgame apologist.  I really enjoyed it, but it did have its flaws.

Anyone into Star Trek who says they do not like Voyager is really missing out.  It was a lot of fun.  Not perfect, but damn good.

Leave a Reply

