Deep Space Nine: In the Pale Moonlight

Despite the fact that I have been a Star Trek fan for as long as I could remember, I have not seen all of Deep Space Nine.  The latter half of the show was on when I was first staring in the IT field and I was spending a lot of nights and weekends in the office.  When I wasn’t working, I was usually out.  I remember I was watching Voyager but I think it was because Voyager took over the Next Generation time slot so I was used to watching at that time already.  Whatever it was, I am finally getting around to watching this series.  I can say that I am bummed that I wasted so many years not having this show in my life, but the truth is that I am thrilled that at 44 years old this many years after Star Trek has left the air that I still have “new” Star Trek to watch.

The last two episodes I have watched were season six’s “Inquisition” and “In the Pale Moonlight”.  I am not going to go through the plot lines in detail, but “Inquisition” is when Dr. Bashir is accused of unknowingly spying for the Dominion and “In The Pale Moonlight” is Sisko telling the story, ostensibly to his Personal Log of how he plotted to get the Romulans in the war on the side of the Federation.  I mean, come on:  ROMULANS!  Love Romulans.

Anyway.  I loved both of these episodes with “In the Pale Moonlight” being probably the best that DS9 has to offer.  Avery Brooks just nailed it with how honest he played it with a level of emotion you don’t usually get in Trek or Science Fiction in general.

Deep Space Nine is most definitely much darker than anything else that Star Trek has done.  First Contact and Undiscovered Country are probably just as dark.  I can’t help but to think that DS9 would not have been Gene Roddenberry’s favorite.  He was very much against showing anything but the absolute best from our heroes or anyone associated with Star Fleet.  Both of these shows show a dark side with “Inquisition” showing Star Fleet’s dark side and “In the Pale Moonlight” showing a personal darkness within Sisko.  He was obviously struggling with the decisions he had to make and the decisions that were made for him. Going to Garak he knew what the possibilities were and when Sisko attacked Garak was he angry at Garak or angry at himself or was he just struggling with the conflict of knowing that going to Garak was the right move because he knew what Garak would do.  In the end when Sisko smugly says that he would do it all over again, well, the end justified the means in this case.  I think Gene Roddenberry would have had a fit if he saw these two episodes, especially back to back as they were aired.  I only have a handful more episodes to go in season 6, then I have season 7 and I cannot wait to see what awaits.  I know the big spoiler of Terry Farrell leaving at the end of season 6 and that is really unfortunate, though truthfully, if there was one character that I feel they left so much on the table with, it was Dax.  They did a lot with her, but given her character there was so much more they could have done.  Anyway, I am not sure where Deep Space Nine falls compared to the other series’.  It really is so different that they can’t be compared in my mind.

Leave a Reply

