Who do I want to be

There is a lot of talk about the Presidential election and there is a lot of hate and yelling, which is sadly what the American political process has become.

When I think about who I want to lead this nation, I basically ask myself one question:  Who do I want to be?  Do I want to be the guy who supports denying rights to people?  Do I feel comfortable telling a group of people that they do not deserve the same rights that everyone else has?  Being Jewish, not too long ago people were telling people like me that we were not allowed the same rights as everyone else.  It was wrong then and it is wrong now.  It is all about going back to basics:  equals.  It was a principle the country was founded upon yet a principle we have been fighting for ever since the country started.  I think we are closer than ever.  The fact that there are people who still want to say that if you are gay or you are Muslim or you are whatever else you cannot have the same rights as everyone else shows that we will have the most basic of battles to fight.  That is where I am at.

Leave a Reply

